Steelseries Siberia 800 Wireless Headset Brief Overview


So let’s get to it. After months and I really do mean months of deciding what headset I would like to purchase I narrowed it down to the Steelseries Siberia 800 Wireless.

Why this headset I hear you cry? Well I have been using the turtle beach x12’s from my Xbox 360 with my PC to date. This was due to them actually being a pretty decent headset for the price and they worked perfectly for me on the PC so I didn’t see a need to upgrade the headset until the rest of my PC had been built.

As you can guess the time has come. I have been looking for a quality 7.1 sound, wireless headset which was going to last me and that I would get a decent listening experience from. Also I wanted one that was compatible with my Xbox one which this one is,you must have the Xbox one adapter tho. Yes I do know, generally wired headsets are the way to go but I just wanted to be wire free and create a less cluttered area where my PC is located.

Now for the specs and what’s included in the box. In the box it includes:

  • Steelseries Siberia 800 headset
  • Transmitter/Control Hub
  • 2 Battery Packs
  • Power adapter with 4 worldwide plug ends
  • 6 connection cables which include optical, USB, power, analogue, mobile and Xbox chat.

The headset has 40mm drivers which you can adapt for your hearing pleasure, due to the very customizable sound options thanks to the transmitter box. As you probably guessed from the box contents this headset is extremely versatile and can connect to almost anything with all its included cables. It will connect to PC,Mac,Xbox,Xbox One,PlayStation,Tablets,Phones or directly into your Home Entertainment System. The transmitter box is effectively the control hub for all of these as you can connect all your inputs into this device and due to its handy OLED display you can select which input you want to listen to along with customized or pre set EQ settings for each device. There is also a clickable wheel and various simplistic buttons located on the headset so you can control the transmitter box without being next to it. The transmitter box also has a handy feature of being a charging dock for the battery you are not using which means you never have to go without battery because when one battery dies you can literally hot swap between the two included battery’s which I think is a very attractive feature for this headset.

My general view and conclusion on this headset is a very impressed one. I have only been using the Siberia 800’s for a few days but I am already blown away with the punchy sound quality that they pump out and the comfort that they provide when using them. They aren’t the most lightweight headset in the world but you do get a feel of a premium product with its leather on the earbuds and across the top of the headset itself, providing a sturdy but comfortable feel and experience. I had these on for around 5 hours straight and I didn’t feel uncomfortable or the need to take them off to give my ears a bit of freedom. Steelseries advertise this headset as lag free and all I can do is back them up with this statement, I haven’t had a single problem with any lag coming from the sound or produced from the retractable microphone. Talking of the microphone, as mentioned just a moment ago it is retractable which again is a nice feature to have for those games where you don’t necessarily need a microphone dangling around your mouth. The microphone quality itself is okay, to be honest from a headset at this price I would of expected a little more but it is what is and that is my only real negative point about this headset. I have seen others complaining that it doesn’t go loud enough but for me I have been using it on roughly 80% and that is more than loud enough for me and it blocks out the constant background traffic noise which I have living next to a busy road.

So would I recommend the Steelseries Siberia 800 Wireless? Yes I would, they tick all the boxes I think you would ever want in a gaming headset and have more than enough features and settings to adapt to any sound that you require. Saying that at £259.99 RRP these aren’t cheap and the only reason I took the big leap into these were because of an offer at box.co.uk for £189.99 (which I believe is still on for anyone wanting to get a set of these) but in my eyes it is money well spent for my needs but if you don’t essentially want or need a wireless headset there are cheaper options out there which produce a very similar sound to these.

Leave a comment